pa2a.org


Share Thread:  
Does Pa recognize Non resident Utah CCL
#1
Inadvertently let my Pa CCL expire. Does Pa. recognize a Utah non resident CCL?
Reply
#2
nomad;156800 Wrote:Inadvertently let my Pa CCL expire. Does Pa. recognize a Utah non resident CCL?

How long ago?
"Fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity"

goofin, proud to be a member of pa2a.org since Sep 2012.
Reply
#3
nomad;156800 Wrote:Inadvertently let my Pa CCL expire. Does Pa. recognize a Utah non resident CCL?

No, Utah residents only can carry in PA with the Utah CFP.

https://www.attorneygeneral.gov/uploaded...eement.pdf
Reply
#4
goofin;156802 Wrote:
nomad;156800 Wrote:Inadvertently let my Pa CCL expire. Does Pa. recognize a Utah non resident CCL?

How long ago?

This^

Mines due in December but I know I'll be fine for 6 months if I can't get over to the sheriff's office next month.

There's a 6 month grace period after expiration. Carry on.
[Image: picsay-1358258813.jpg]
Reply
#5
Mine expired in February. Shrug
Reply
#6
Mr_Gixxer;156807 Wrote:
goofin;156802 Wrote:How long ago?

This^

Mines due in December but I know I'll be fine for 6 months if I can't get over to the sheriff's office next month.

There's a 6 month grace period after expiration. Carry on.

Technically it's not a grace period, it's a defense if arrested for carrying (concealed, concealed/open in Philly, etc.) without a currently valid LTCF.

Quote:§ 6106. Firearms not to be carried without a license.

(a) Offense defined.--
....(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), any person who carries a firearm in any vehicle or any person who carries a firearm concealed on or about his person, except in his place of abode or fixed place of business, without a valid and lawfully issued license under this chapter commits a felony of the third degree.

....(2) A person who is otherwise eligible to possess a valid license under this chapter but carries a firearm in any vehicle or any person who carries a firearm concealed on or about his person, except in his place of abode or fixed place of business, without a valid and lawfully issued license and has not committed any other criminal violation commits a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(b) Exceptions.--The provisions of subsection (a) shall not apply to:

~snip~

....(12) A person who has a lawfully issued license to carry a firearm pursuant to section 6109 (relating to licenses) and that said license expired within six months prior to the date of arrest and that the individual is otherwise eligible for renewal of the license.

~snip~

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legi...=0&chpt=61
Reply
#7
soberbyker Wrote:Technically it's not a grace period, it's a defense if arrested for carrying (concealed, concealed/open in Philly, etc.) without a currently valid LTCF.

^ This. It is a defense, not a grace period. A defense doesn't guarantee you won't be arrested or convicted.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
"There is no hunting like the hunting of man. And those who have hunted armed men long enough and liked it, never care for anything else thereafter."
-Ernest Hemingway
Reply






Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
pistol Utah CFP Class at Oaks Gun Show artsguns 3 1,034 12-12-2015, 04:35 PM
Last Post: soberbyker
  Bucks County To Stop Issuing LTC To Residents Of States That Don't Recognize PA LTC Uinta Firearms 2 834 08-05-2015, 09:39 PM
Last Post: shademtarmory
  Utah CCW Permit Class-Oaks Gun Show May 30 & 31 artsguns 1 689 05-14-2015, 02:38 PM
Last Post: Uinta Firearms
  Pennsylvania: Right-to-Carry Reciprocity Expands to Utah das 2 1,273 06-28-2014, 03:59 PM
Last Post: 51158
  PA no longer recognizes Utah permit? dc dalton 33 5,068 05-14-2014, 09:30 AM
Last Post: dc dalton



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Software by MyBB, © 2002-2015 MyBB Group.
Template by Modogodo Design.