pa2a.org


Share Thread:  
Franklin County LTCF Information
#1
pistol 
REQUIREMENTS:
Applicants must
…be at least 21 years of age
…be a RESIDENT of Franklin County
…pass the P.I.C.S.
(Pennsylvania Instant Check System)administered by the Pennsylvania State Police

COST
$ 5.00 Deposit at time of application
$15.00 When license is approved
$ 20.00 Total Cost

Please submit only the $5.00 fee at time of applying because if the full amount of the license fee is received and the application is rejected, there will be a significant delay in the refunding of the balance of funds received.

Make any checks payable to “FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF”

This License is good ONLY in the State of PENNSYLVANIA unless another State has signed an agreement with Pennsylvania and is on record with the Attorney General of Pennsylvania.

This License can be revoked at any time if you become involved in a Police Incident where the Officer believes that your actions show you to be reckless or careless with a weapon…or if you are charged with a violation of the law which prevented you from originally obtaining a License. The power to revoke this License is vested in the Sheriff who issued it.

Please fill in the form, beginning with your Last Name. Be sure you list your STREET ADDRESS, not a Post Office Box. Answer all of the questions on the front side of the form and be sure to sign and date your application on the bottom of the form.

A complete photo copy of your driver's license is acceptable for attachment to your application The accompanying sheet listing conditions of Section 6105(b) must be submitted with the application to be accepted for processing.

Please be specific when requesting the type of license you want…multiple check offs are OK. When checking “Self Defense” please give a short statement under “Other” to explain why this category is needed… (Example:“Carry money home from business” or “Transport gun from business to home”)

DO NOT check “Employment” unless you have completed the required training under the LETHAL WEAPONS TRAINING ACT, ACT 2, ACT 120 or similar laws dealing with police officers, guards, etc.

You may drop off the application at the office or mail it to the Sheriff’s Office, but be sure and include your $5.00 deposit. The accompanying sheet listing conditions of Section 6105(b) must be submitted with application to be accepted for processing.

Make any checks payable to:
FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF
157 Lincoln Way East
Chambersburg, PA 17201
Phone: 717-261-3877

The Sheriff has 45 days to process your application. Your information will be checked and you will be notified by phone or mail of the results.

Application:
http://www.franklincountypa.gov/SiteColl...rearms.pdf
Reply
#2
REQUIREMENTS:
Applicants must
…be at least 21 years of age
…be a RESIDENT of Franklin County
…pass the P.I.C.S.
(Pennsylvania Instant Check System)administered by the Pennsylvania State Police

Pennsylvania-resident applicants must be a resident of Franklin County. However the sheriff is also obligated to process applications from non-Pennsylvania residents. It is unclear from the above whether or not he does so.

COST
$ 5.00 Deposit at time of application
$15.00 When license is approved
$ 20.00 Total Cost

Please submit only the $5.00 fee at time of applying because if the full amount of the license fee is received and the application is rejected, there will be a significant delay in the refunding of the balance of funds received.

Not in compliance with state law. (Although it's relatively trivial in my opinion.) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6109 says the full fee is to be paid at the time of application, with $15 refunded in the case of a denial.

Make any checks payable to “FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF”

This License is good ONLY in the State of PENNSYLVANIA unless another State has signed an agreement with Pennsylvania and is on record with the Attorney General of Pennsylvania.

This License can be revoked at any time if you become involved in a Police Incident where the Officer believes that your actions show you to be reckless or careless with a weapon…or if you are charged with a violation of the law which prevented you from originally obtaining a License. The power to revoke this License is vested in the Sheriff who issued it.

Please fill in the form, beginning with your Last Name. Be sure you list your STREET ADDRESS, not a Post Office Box. Answer all of the questions on the front side of the form and be sure to sign and date your application on the bottom of the form.

A complete photo copy of your driver's license is acceptable for attachment to your application The accompanying sheet listing conditions of Section 6105(b) must be submitted with the application to be accepted for processing.

Please be specific when requesting the type of license you want…multiple check offs are OK. When checking “Self Defense” please give a short statement under “Other” to explain why this category is needed… (Example:“Carry money home from business” or “Transport gun from business to home”)

There's no basis in law for requiring any explanation beyond simply checking a box. § 6109 just says "One of the following reasons for obtaining a firearm license shall be set forth in the application: self-defense, employment, hunting and fishing, target shooting, gun collecting or another proper reason." This is an unlawful requirement.

DO NOT check “Employment” unless you have completed the required training under the LETHAL WEAPONS TRAINING ACT, ACT 2, ACT 120 or similar laws dealing with police officers, guards, etc.

More to the point, just do not check "Employment" at all. It shouldn't even be an option since Act 235 and the other mentioned acts requires certification under those acts in order to carry as a incidence of employment. Other state laws have the effect that an LTCF simply isn't suitable for carrying for employment, despite the legislature's mistake in listing that as a reason for application.

You may drop off the application at the office or mail it to the Sheriff’s Office, but be sure and include your $5.00 deposit. The accompanying sheet listing conditions of Section 6105(b) must be submitted with application to be accepted for processing.

Make any checks payable to:
FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF
157 Lincoln Way East
Chambersburg, PA 17201
Phone: 717-261-3877

The Sheriff has 45 days to process your application. Your information will be checked and you will be notified by phone or mail of the results.

Application:
http://www.franklincountypa.gov/SiteColl...rearms.pdf
I am not a lawyer.
Reply
#3
twency;75888 Wrote:Please be specific when requesting the type of license you want…multiple check offs are OK. When checking “Self Defense” please give a short statement under “Other” to explain why this category is needed… (Example:“Carry money home from business” or “Transport gun from business to home”)

There's no basis in law for requiring any explanation beyond simply checking a box. § 6109 just says "One of the following reasons for obtaining a firearm license shall be set forth in the application: self-defense, employment, hunting and fishing, target shooting, gun collecting or another proper reason." This is an unlawful requirement.

Agreed.

I have personally spoken with the Sheriff (Dane Anthony) on this matter, and made him aware that he cannot deny based on failure to comply with this. I have assured him that if he does, and I become aware of it, there will be media attention and a court appeal of the denial. I have counseled anyone I know who applies to ignore these directions, and NONE of them (to date) have had an issue.
Reply








Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Software by MyBB, © 2002-2015 MyBB Group.
Template by Modogodo Design.